CEP 810: Final Reflection

A final reflection from CEP810? Is it over already? At least this is just the start to earning my masters! I have always been interested in technology and using it with my students but now I look at it in a different way. I now try to consider how much exploration and creativity can be done during an activity and if it’s just a replacement for something that could be done on paper.

During this course there were three main activities that helped me begin to redesign my own teaching practices: the NLP, TPACK and the 21st century lesson plan.  

Networked Learning Project: I use online resources on a daily basis, but it’s often to look for new ideas not completely learn something new. It was fun to explore what other people had to say without actually talking to anyone while I was learning how to make an urban vegetable garden. I also liked that I had to blog about my project because it was a great way to express my growth, what I learned, and it gave me a chance to reflect on networked learning. I enjoyed it so much that it helped me decide to give my first graders more chances to explore online resources to enhance their learning. Lastly, I have a vegetable garden and that’s pretty impressive!  

TPACK: I loved this assignment. It was a great representation of repurposing tools. I am now looking for ways to use any tech tool available instead of trying to find educational tools, because now I know there is no such thing as an educational tool. As I mentioned in my other post, Dr. Punya Mishra’s keynote speech made me think about the difference between integrating and innovating, which is essential when using technology. I’ve shared his video with several colleagues and I have had some very interesting discussions thus far.  

21st Century Lesson Plan: I haven’t made an in depth lesson plan since attending university. Now, when I create or think about a lesson, my focus for technology is reviewing how my students will explore, create and share while keeping in mind the content being taught. it has made it a lot easier to focus on creating a meaningful lesson when I keep these three things in mind.  

Did I achieve my goals?  

  • Goal 1: Finding the best way for using innovative technology for exploratory/inquiry based learning for my first grade students: I am still working on this. With the endless possibilities of technology available, it takes time and exploration to choose the tools that will work best. I have however learned that exploring, creating and sharing can be a quick check for making sure technology is being utilized effectively.  
  • Goal 2: Helping my school continue to utilize technology effectively: I have to start somewhere and that is with my my PLN (professional learning network). Sharing with my husband and colleagues has been fun! I am also considering applying for the technology coordinating position at my current school, which my admin team has hinted I should do. I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew, so I guess this goal is still in the works.  
  • Goal 3: Incorporating a meaningful and dynamic technology based lessons on a daily basis: This is similar to goal one. I am not sure if daily is too much. I am still figuring out what works best for first grade and how often technology is being used as a tool and not a replacement.  

Questions that remain:  

  1. How can I work searching and repurposing tools into my daily schedule?  I think I speak for most teachers when I say, “I don’t have time for that” or “There is so much I need to get done!” I need to figure out a productive and consistent way of looking for useful tools without taking hours of exploration or taking the place of other work.
  2. How will my teaching change? I am searching for ways to mold what I am already doing into something more meaningful with the use of technology.
  3. Can you use too much technology? I have been very excited about all the new tools I have discovered but is there a point when you are using technology to much? I am trying to find the happy medium.

Thanks CEP 810, my prof and all my classmates for helping me happily down the road as a life long learner!


References:

Mishra, Dr. Punya. (2012, March 26). Punya Mishra – Keynote Speaker @ 21st Century Learning Conference – Hong Kong 2012 (Video File). Retrieved From https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=698&v=9bwXYa91fvQ

Leave a Reply

