CEP810: GTD – Getting Things Done

I just learned about David Allen’s book Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity (2001).  So what do I use to keep my life organized? I have a paper desk calendar and a yearly planner provided by the school. I consider myself a tech savvy individual, yet I am still using a paper list with little boxes next to it that I check off. Wow…I think it’s time to change that.

The first tool I explored was Evernote. To be honest, I only tried this tool because my husband said he had used it to organize himself during his first year of teaching in Venezuela. Here are my thoughts:

  • Can be used without 3G or Wi-Fi256px-Evernote.svg
  • Items cannot be checked off
  • Like a Word Document but has a title
  • Notes can be exported into Word Documents
  • Notes can be shared with Google contacts

When I make a list, I LOVE the satisfaction of seeing an item checked off and watching the list shrink. That is why I am going to start using Wunderlist. Here are my reasons why:

  • Can be used without using Wi-Fi or 3G
  • Can be synced with multiple devices when a internet/cellular connection is available
  • Lists can be shared by email, URL linked, or printed (I like this especially since I can share lists with the 5 other first grade teachers or my husband.)
  • Others can be added to edit lists Wunderlist
  • Items can be checked off
  • Lists can be combined easily
  • Lists can be emailed.

Checked off my blog post and now to share a tweet!

Leave a Reply

